Paul Pierce – The Truth

“Take this down, my name is Shaquille O’Neal and Paul Pierce is the mother******* truth. Quote me on that and don’t take nothing out. I knew he could play, but I didn’t know he could play like this. Paul Pierce is the truth.”

And that’s how it all started. The man who’s given himself more nicknames than Darryl Dawkins  gave his dunks pulled a Boston reporter to the side and gave him that revelation after Pierce put the Celtics on his back and beat the Lakers during a regular season game back in 2001.

I personally have never been a Paul Pierce fan. I remember reading about him when he was in HS and when I finally saw him play the first thing that jumped out at me was that he was kind of chubby. Not only that but he couldn’t run real fast or jump real high and he had a horrible looking shot. To me, he didn’t “look” like a basketball player and there was something about him that seemed kind of, well…goofy. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. There was no denying his talent though.

He was a McDonald’s All-American in 1995 alongside Kevin Garnett, Stephon Marbury and Vince Carter. He starred for Roy Williams at Kansas for 3 years. He was the 10th pick in the 1998 NBA Draft and he’s been an All-Star 6 times since then. But none of that mattered to me; I still couldn’t bring myself to like him. Why? Well for one, he played for the Celtics and two, he isn’t athletic and his game isn’t smooth. To me it’s very unorthodox and ugly at the same time. Even still, for almost 10 years P2 has been quietly going about his business as being one of the best players in the NBA and I’ve never given him one single prop for it…until now.

I’m a die-hard Bulls fan, so I didn’t watch a lot of Boston games this year. I wasn’t caught up like everybody else in all the hype around the team bringing in K.G. and Jesus Shuttlesworth either. It was obvious that Danny Ainge was being very aggressive in his pursuit of an NBA championship; I just wished John Paxson would do the same thing. So of the few games I did catch, those two guys are the only reason that I was even remotely interested. But during this year’s playoffs and especially in the Finals, I “discovered” Paul Pierce and saw that beauty can be found in something ugly.

Paul Pierce has been torching teams throughout the postseason this year and it seems like the bigger the name is on the other team, the more he steps his game up. In the first round against Joe Johnson and the Atlanta Hawks, he averaged 18ppg. In the conference semi-finals against the Cleveland Cavaliers and LeBron James, he averaged 19.4ppg including  a game 7 duel with “King James” where he scored 41pts to offset LeBron’s 45. In the eastern conference finals against the Detroit Pistons he averaged 19.7ppg and in the NBA Finals so far against the Lakers and Kobe Bryant he’s averaging 22.8ppg. See what I mean?

Paul Pierce gets it done; period. I can no longer deny him a spot in my book as one of the best players in the game right now and certainly one of the best to ever wear a Celtics uniform. I mentioned in an earlier post that if Boston won the championship this year I would be happy for Kevin Garnett because he deserves it; but Paul Pierce deserves it too. He’s been the face of that franchise for a long time now and should they win it all he would be the most deserving. I guess it doesn’t really matter how ugly your game is as long as it’s effective and you can step up and produce when it counts. 

My nom de plume is B.C., and Paul Pierce is the truth. I knew he could play, but I didn’t know he could play like this. Paul Pierce is the mother***** truth…and you can quote me on that.

One Response

  1. I am glad you came around to see ‘the truth’ finally. I love Paul Pierce but I love anyone in Celtic green almost. I have been a fan since the late 60’s and that is a long, long time. Paul Pierce did an awesome job this year along with the rest of the team. They all deserved the championship and i am so happy I could cry. In fact I already have!! I enjoyed your column and I hope you will write something nice about the Celtics again someday.

Leave a Reply

