The Stephon Marbury Experience

stephonFor those of you that didn’t know, hadn’t heard or simply didn’t care, Stephon Marbury just completed a 24hr webcast and live chat on Ustream this morning. The broadcast started at 6am PST yesterday from his home in LA and history was made a little over an hour ago.

After hearing about it I was initially going to ignore it, yet when I tuned in I spent a considerable part of my day yesterday and the last 20 minutes of the broadcast today watching. I can honestly say that once you tuned in, you couldn’t take your eyes off it. It’s not that there was anything overly spectacular going on, but it was just interesting to get a candid, inside look at the man known as Starbury.

Fans who logged into the chat were allowed to ask questions and he answered a whole lot of them, including the stupid ones. He even answered quite a few of my questions, responded to some of my comments, and gave my two sons a shout out that were watching with me as well. He also took a lot of heat from some of the haters who logged in just to take jabs at him, yet he responded very gracefully although at times you could tell he was a little frustrated by it.

He was also very open and engaging. He talked about his relationship with God and showed that he was a real student of the Bible. He explained why he no longer wears jewelry. He talked about the comments LeBron James made about him during his refusal to suit up for the Knicks and why based on that, he felt the two could never play together. He talked about the situation in New York between himself, James Dolan, Mike D’Antoni and Isiah Thomas. And there were other moments where his candidness bordered on being uncomfortable.

He talked about the incident where he cheated on his wife. He talked about the night his father died and his last moments alive in the back of the ambulance. He talked about losing his virginity because he was molested as a child. And this is just from what I saw. There’s no telling what else he talked about when I wasn’t watching. Still, the fact that he even spoke on these things and didn’t hold anything back gave me a newly found respect for him and you could see that this was not the same guy that came into the league 14 years ago.

Admittedly, I can say that I was a Marbury hater. Like most of us, I shaped my opinion on what I’d seen and heard about him in the media. But this event really changed my mind about him and I wish the best for him in his career. He’s not concerned with being one of the games elite players anymore, instead he’s more concerened with being a better person and helping as many people as he can. There’s certainly nothing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

